Nostalgia

Rain sucks, to put it plainly. However, while the terrential downpour continued to hit the conservatory roof, I took the time to think what should I actually do with the day?
I started to sort through some videos (yes VHS, not DVD or Blue-Ray…) and happened to find a video entitled ‘Littlefoot’. That was what my Dad labelled it years ago, but it’s correct title is The Land Before Time. The film was released in 1988 and executively produced by legendaries, Steven Spielberg and George Lucas. Of course, I didn’t know this as my 6 year old self as I watched it all those years ago… but as an adult I did a little research.
I was surprised to find that it only lasted 53 minutes. I mean… WOW. A film that doesn’t last more than an hour?! What are the odds?
How is it then, that a film can have a beginning, a middle and an end, whilst building three-dimensional characters and producing a whirlwind of emotions? The only films I can remember that did that was in the ‘My Little Pony’ collection… you know the one with the massive spider blocking the way and the ponies get caught in its sticky web? No? Okay just me…
The animation in ‘Littlefoot’, is simply quite stunning. Okay so it’s not 3D, big deal! Who wants to wear them glasses anyway? They hurt my eyes and my nose, mainly because I have to put them on top of my own glasses. (N.B. Can someone invent 3D prescription glasses?)
I love a film that can give me a good cry, while eating ice-cream and chocolate, and trying to wipe my tears before falling into my food! And ‘Littlefoot’ was no exception; I didn’t cry as much as I would for The Lion King, but the film still trapped me in tangles of emotions, and to me that’s what makes a good film. It may be predictable, it may be childish and it may not be 3D, but it has a purpose, a moral and most of all it is a simple tale.

After watching the film, I decided to sort through masses of junk that is piled into a ‘walk-in-cupboard’ that you can’t walk-in. You know that Friends episode when Chandler finally gets into Monica’s cupboard and is mortified and surprised when it’s full of junk? Well imagine that. It’s bad.
Within three hours, the bottom floor was tidy and 8 plastic bags were thrown into the bin full of junk – of course I couldn’t do it without the help of Mum!
During this time I found many things that filled me with such nostalgia, that I ended up just reading or looking at things instead of throwing things away.
I came across letters from pen-pals when I was 11 (nine years ago), and letters from my best friends and cousins. I found myself thinking, technology can be rubbish.
E-Mail. Electronic Mail.
It’s just not the same as having letters written by hand with ink whether it be from a bic pen or gel pen. You can keep these for years, and you somehow feel closer to the person when you know they have taken the time to handwrite the letter instead of typing.
Yes, it’s more convenient to type and email and it gets sent to the recipient within seconds, but it’s not as personal.
I wish I could handwrite this blog for you all, but alas I’m the hypocrite, it’s just faster to get my thoughts out there by typing.
Write a letter. Watch a film from your childhood. In twenty years time, if our children are learning how to type than learning how to write – we have problems!

Posted on August 25, 2010, in Childhood, Film Takes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I remember loving that movie! I used to have on VHS but through moving a few time I think they got left behind. I actually watched another great cartoon movie from the 90’s recently. Do you remember Fivel goes west? Or maybe it was called An American Tail. I used to love that one. It actually made me cry when I was little.

    • An American Tail? Yes I remember that one, but oddly I think I only saw it once and can’t really remember much of it. It’s about that mouse right and he goes on this big adventure? I think that’s the one, or I’m getting confused with another film. Most of them sort of films made me cry, such a sobber lol. Worst one ever to make me cry when I was little was The Lion King; I couldn’t hack the part where Mufasa dies and had to leave the room for five minutes until the scene was over!

Leave a Reply

