Cleaning out my Facebook Closet

Facebook = A social networking site where you request to be friends with someone, can send messages to complete strangers and poke people.

This afternoon I went down from 321 Facebook friends to 297 friends, as a way of cleaning out my Facebook closet. Nevermind spring cleaning, this is the time for a summer send-off to all those ‘friends’ that I’ve never spoken to in my life, who just add you as a friend as a mere popularity race.

Become a socialite today!

Well guess what guys, it’s not a race to the fake friendship finish line, and I am not going to be apart of it. Do you think someone is going to give you a gold medal on reaching the four figure mark?

Wait – there’s probably an App for that.

Many of my Facebook friends (the real friends – no, honestly!) have also been cleaning out their friendship closets as a bid to starting their professional life, whilst giving their own summer send-offs to their university life. I don’t blame them, I’ve just done the same!

But what I don’t understand is why some people (myself included) have received a request from a person they disliked from their past – school for instance – and accepted the request. If I’m being honest, I really just accept their friendship invitation to spy on them. Yes. I like to play Peeping Tom on my own computer, flicking through their photos and their personal – ahem – public life. And I know you, (yes you reading this!) like to play Peeping Tom too.

It’s not a secret, it’s pretty much what social networking sites were invented for. God forbid if they were invented to actually socialize.

Truthfully, I could have deleted another 10-15 on my friends list, but I can’t deny myself a little sneak-peak at their profile once in a while… Hey, a jobless graduate’s got to have something to fill their time with right?

In all honesty, Twitter is really the way forward. Isn’t ‘following’ someone a more accurate description of what we do on social networking sites?

Don’t worry, it just became that much easier to stalk someone. You’re totally safe.

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on August 17, 2011, in Friends, Life, Social Networks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Honestly, I don’t know any of the so-called friends on my Facebook page, Silver. I’m basically a recluse and don’t seek fans since their chit-chat is usually a waste of time. I keep a FB page just to see how lucky I am not to be those people.

    R.D….

    • Sorry I haven’t seen this post until now!
      Yeah facebook is really merely a tool to sit back and stalk, ‘like’ meaningless statuses and poke people you fancy. What started out as a social networking site, turned out to be a copycat mirror image of our real selves that talk to other copycats in an alternate world.

  2. Thanks for the helpful blog.

  3. .Over 31 of Facebook friends cannot be classified into these categories. However only 3 of Facebook friends are people users have never met in person and only 7 are people who have met only one time.

Leave a Reply

