The Inbetweeners Movie: Riding Out On A High

Shagaluf? Sorry, it’s Malia

The Inbetweeners have been posing nude in front of our tv screens for a successful three series, now they’ve got us hooked on the big screen ready to bare their bums (as well as other parts) in a 90 minute ‘LOL’ trip to the Greek Island, Malia.

On hearing the word ‘movie’ in the same sentence as ‘end of the series’, it is safe to say that I was a little dubious.  Though it worked for Sex and the City, fully disregarding the atrocity that was the sequel, I was blindly hoping that The Inbetweeners Movie may just ride out on a high.

I wasn’t disappointed.

The Inbetweeners Movie was exactly how I had imagined: crude jokes, ‘LOL’ moments, amusing nudity and some absolutely disgusting ‘vomit-in-your-mouth’ scenes. Everything that I love with the series was portrayed in the cinema bigger and better, and I’m not just speaking of Jay’s ego. For the final time, the writers and producers have screened the perfect end to a not-so-perfect group of Inbetweeners.

Without hitting the mark of spoiler territory, Will (Simon Bird), Jay (James Buckley), Simon (Joe Thomas) and Neil (Blake Harrison) played out their roles with ridiculous amounts of crude gestures as a group of teenage boys would.

The spoken gem of the film came from none other than Jay:

‘She’s so wet for me I can hear the waves breaking in her fanny.’ 

Oh Jay, thanks for enlightening me I’d never thought of it in quite that way before…

Another great ‘LOL’ moment appears at the half-way point of the boys shenanigans, where Will is wondering what it would be like to put stones in his underpants and jump in the pool. Neil, the bright-spark of the foursome, has a wondrous revelation about religion and the spelling of said spiritual entity. I can’t give the joke away – that would be cruel!

Fish Bowl Time – Where’s the pussay?

The film never misses a moment to capture laughter from its audience and just like the series it always hits you right where it hurts: on the funny bone. With tear-filled eyes (from laughter) and a massive smile on my face, I was struck by the sadness that the four boys would never haunt my television with their sock-covered penis’, their shit-filled pants, and their egotistical ‘pussay patrols’.

Yet one thing is for certain, I’ll never forget them bus wankers.

5 Stars

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Film Takes, Holiday, Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I still haven’t seen the movie yet. I’ll wait for it to come out on DVD now. Thanks for the review. it was very good, with minimum spoilers. I wish some of the ‘professionals’ would do the same.

    • Ah from the sound of your blog post on it I thought you had! 🙂 You may as well wait for it on DVD now, it’ll probably be out by Christmas!
      Also thanks, I tried to leave it as spoiler free as possible because it really annoys me when I read a review just to see if it’s good or not and then they tell me the whole plot line… so yes, I wish some of the others would do the same!

Leave a Reply

