Topic of Debate: University vs Real Life Jobs

Students vs The Rest of the World:

It seems there has been an ever-increasing dislike for students who complain that they are ‘tired’ and ‘overworked’ by their University study work. It appears that non-students who work a 9am – 5pm job, evening work, or some that are doing two jobs find students frustrating, somewhat egotistical and quite frankly ‘cop-outs’.

I must agree that working all those hours in a regular job will be tiring as well as monotonous, but how can a regular worker believe it’s harder than studying for a degree, masters or PHD?

books_pile

Study sesh, anyone?

As a current MA student, I am working part-time in a bookstore for 15 hours per week, I am in lectures for 20 hours, and independently study for around 8 hours each week.

That’s 43 hours per week.

A regular 9 to 5pm job equates to 40 hours per week and if they did over-time it would take us to around 45 hours a week.

So what is the difference then? University students work the same hours as the rest of the working world, so why the outbreak and anger?

Was it the lack of opportunity twenty or thirty years ago? Or maybe that some people just aren’t a correct fit for the academic world?Whatever the reason, don’t dislike us for it. As students, we are just trying to make a living for ourselves, as are the non-academics of this world.

Even as an undergraduate I worked a 40 hour week at a bookstore during the months November to December, whilst still studying four days a week at University, and commuting the three hour train journey every Wednesday and Sunday. I worked myself to the bone, and the consequence was a very nasty Christmas illness.

On the other side of the coin we have the students that are lazy: they eat, sleep and get drunk, staggering into lectures with a hangover and half a piece of paper.

We’ve all seen them, heck we’ve probably even been there ourselves. However, during exam time your guaranteed to see students cramming in the library, setting up camp with some water, chocolate and a packet of crisps as ‘midnight snacks’.

Non-University youngsters actually have a much better outlook in the current climate of our nation; you can start out in McDonalds and work your way up the career ladder becoming a manager. On the other hand, students work crap jobs for rubbish pay even after they graduate. So who seems to have the easier life?

I’ll have a McFlurry please.

It’s a simple question, but the answer is undeniably difficult.

At the end of your shift at work, the rest of the world sits down to a cup of tea and television. University students sit down to a cup of tea, their laptop and a deadline of 3,000 words.

Would you like to write my essay for me?

No, I didn’t think so.

Posted on October 7, 2011, in Life, University and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I think we all work too hard!

    I was a graphic design student many years ago and I enjoyed it at the time. I wouldn’t be a student again, though, so if you don’t mind, I’ll decline your kind offer to allow me to write your essay. I hope it went well.

    • Completely. Ah don’t worry, that was an hypothetical essay, but there will be a couple coming up just before Christmas – if I gave you an endless supply of sweets, maybe you’d be more inclined to write my essay? =)

  2. I love your blog, you should add an RSS feed feature so I can get automatic notifications of new blogs. If you set one up please email me! i will bookmark you for now. Again Excellent Blog!

  3. Richard Bennett

    I’ve always found that people with that “students are good for nothing” attitude usually are insecure in their work lives, with crushed dreams and a degree (heh) of jealousy. Their fear of social inadequacy and not appearing as “intellectual” as people who have taken university degrees also results in hostility. Like so many things, we are always hostile to what we fear. On a side note, most people with a hatred for students that I have come across read “the sun”. Now Unfortunatly this distaste for what others do in their careers as carried on for me as I train to be an actor. I constantly get from non-actors the patronizing tone of “aahh well good for you, good luck” and I occasionally overhear “it won’t last and he will soon get into the real world”. But then again it’s all just ignorance and fear of the unknown.

    • Oh yes, The Sun is certainly a viable newspaper if you’re interested in trash-talk. But hey, most people are. I agree with you on all those points, it’s certainly ignorance from the non-students of the world because they believe what society, newspapers, media and word of mouth tells them. But students are also ignorant (in some parts) because they have no idea what it feels like to live in ‘the real world’ without their parents and student loans. Both parties are to blame for the stereotypes they receive, and unfortunately we all play up to them.
      You’ve heard the term ‘struggling actor’ it’s the same for ‘struggling writers’ and we’re often propelled into reality working for none other than a McJob. But some get there, and where do they go if it’s not ‘the real world’?
      Something for those people who you overhear speaking to think about.

      Thanks for stopping by Rich. 🙂

Leave a Reply

