Robin Williams’s Death, Depression, and Reuniting with Christopher Reeve

reeve_williams

They met at Julliard and were life-long friends; Robin Williams and Christopher Reeve

Back in 2004, I was struck by the death of my hero and, along with many others, remembered all of the amazing feats this man had managed in his short lifetime. I was 14 when Christopher Reeve died. And today, almost ten years on, I’m shocked by the loss of his college best friend, Robin Williams.

The great comedy legend and Hollywood actor Robin Williams was found dead in his Californian home on August 11, having committed suicide. For a moment, when I (bleary-eyed) checked the news on my phone at 7am, I was stunned. I didn’t think it was real, in fact, my mind couldn’t process it was real. But sure enough, global news channels confirmed it. Robin Williams was gone.

Immediately my natural curiosity was sated. The man behind such classic films, Good Morning Vietnam, Dead Poets Society, Jumanji, Mrs Doubtfire, and Hook, had battled severe depression and alcoholism for many years. Nobody knows why he committed suicide – even though the newspapers are throwing a few curve balls into the media frenzy, along with a statement from his wife that he had early Parkinson’s Disease – but, in a  weird way, I understood.

As a former sufferer of depression, I found it incredibly difficult to talk about my problems to my friends and family. In fact, it was years after my Nana’s death when I realised I actually needed help. That the ongoing days and nights of crying into my pillow was not normal, that the idea of death was a glorified way out of my crap life. But, when I look back, I actually had a pretty good life. I had an amazing support network of family and friends, plus I had my writing and drama workshops, acceptance to university, and so on. However, I just couldn’t see that it all existed. Every night when I’d cry, I’d only see the darkness, the pain, the need for clear and refreshing physical pain rather than the emotional one. To me, nothing was right in the world. And I was selfish for taking up space, for living in it.

I can’t begin to understand what Robin Williams felt in those moments. But I do understand what it’s like to only see that insufferable darkness. I only hope he finds peace, wherever he may be, and can feel joy in seeing pigeons shit on other people’s heads while he looks on us from afar. And I also hope he reunites with Christopher Reeve once again, after all he needs to re-enact the scene as Reeve’s Russian proctologist. On that note, I’ll leave you with the very scene written in Christopher Reeve’s autobiography, Still Me:

“As the day of the operation drew closer, it became more and more painful and frightening to contemplate. In spite of efforts to protect me from the truth, I already knew that I had only a fifty-fifty chance of surviving the surgery. I lay on my back, frozen, unable to avoid thinking the darkest thoughts. Then, at an especially bleak moment, the door flew open and in hurried a squat fellow with a blue scrub hat and a yellow surgical gown and glasses, speaking in a Russian accent. He announced that he was my proctologist, and that he had to examine me immediately. My first reaction was that either I was on way too many drugs or I was in fact brain damaged. But it was Robin Williams. He and his wife, Marsha, had materialized from who knows where. And for the first time since the accident, I laughed. My old friend had helped me know that somehow I was going to be okay.”

Posted on August 16, 2014, in Film, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you for relating your personal story. I would never had known that about you before today. It just goes to show that you really don’t know what battles people are going through.

    I found the whole Robin Williams circus disgusting, quite frankly. Not the genuine outpouring of grief, but the way the media handled it. I really didn’t need to know the details of how he died. If the cause was suicide, that was a good enough explanation for me. If there have been any copycat suicides as a result, in spite of The Samaritans giving clear guidelines to the media about the amount of information given in these circumstances, then these people should hang their heads in shame.

    • Hey Pie, nice to see (speak to) you again!

      Yeah, I’m generally a very private person, but if more people can try to understand what depression is really like, maybe we can find a way to understand his suicide.

      I know what you mean, the media handled it horribly, particularly in relation to Zelda Williams. The scale of it just got so hand out of hand – it truly is (or was) a frenzy last week. The problem with the media is that the British newspapers are schooled in how to handle suicide cases, we know the rules, therefore our papers should have known better. But the American online sites have a different set of rules, which is pathetic. All media should live under the same banner, they should have the same regulations. It’s frustrating. However, I will say that I disagree with some internet news outlets that say the Academy glorified his suicide by its tweet, “Genie, you’re free.” That was never their intention. Death is a form of freedom, of course, but it largely depends on the circumstances of the death. I hope no copycat suicides have happened either, but unfortunately there are still many sites out there that will inform you on the matter of suicide, though not on the global scale of Robin Williams’s death.

Leave a Reply

